May and June Book Reviews

A few books I read and their reviews. If you are looking for a good book to read this summer, I can’t say enough good things about both The Butterfly Garden and The Paris Key. They were both excellent. I’m sure The Butterfly Garden will be on my top 5 list or 2016. I did read a couple of stinkers though and wish I hadn’t wasted my time with them.

Midsummer at Eyre Hall by Luccia Gray – 4 stars

This was the third book in the trilogy. While the first two were wonderful, this third book seemed a bit forced. But I usually feel that way with a series so it may not be the author, but me! This concluded (with a wrap up in the epilogue) the books about Jane Eyre after Jane Eyre. This has been a good series, well written and imagined. I would think that the author will give us more stories about some of the other characters. Definitely well worth reading (although I would recommend starting at the beginning of the trilogy). I was inspired through this series to read Jane Eyre which I had somehow never read, and for that the author should be commended.

City of Dreams by Harriet Steel – 3 stars

While the story was good, there were too many typos and grammatical errors for my liking.

How to Color by Ionia Froment – 4 stars

While the title says “How”, this is more of a “Why” to color book. It explains some of the reasoning behind adults coloring today and the benefits. It also goes into the “how” to achieve those benefits. In order to achieve the relaxation that coloring can provide, this short book illustrates the best ways to relax through coloring. I would have liked to have seen a couple of illustrations though (just to keep it more interesting). But, overall a good book for those who may be wondering what this adult coloring craze is all about.

The Muralist by B. A. Shapiro – 4 stars

I really enjoyed this book. It covered two time periods, but didn’t do much with the current time period. However, if that had been covered in more detail, the book would have been far too long. I immersed myself into the life of Alizee and her cohorts and loved following along her journey.

Hiccupotamus by Aaron Zenz – 5 stars

I loved this book and am perplexed by some of the 1 star reviews. The made up words are delightful and make for a great rhyming story. I wish it had been a bit longer, but for a preschool age child, it was the perfect length. The cadence was good, the illustrations were good. I loved this book.

A Poetic Engagement by Julian Froment – 5 stars

As someone who has dabbled in poetry, particularly love poetry, I found these poems both rhythmically soothing and inspiring. The love that pours forth from the author can’t help but bring love out in the reader. I especially liked Once a upon a Time, Me With You, and When I Wake

The Drowning Season by Alice Hoffman – 3 stars

Quite frankly, I thought this was a boring book. I couldn’t connect with the characters and it all felt like it was happening in quicksand.

End of Watch by Stephen King – 5 stars

I felt like this was the best of the 3 books in the trilogy. I read this basically in one sitting and couldn’t put it down. While it wasn’t old-style Stephen King horror, it was a great book with a great plot and told in a way that only Stephen King could tell it. This is why he is one of the best contemporary authors there is.

City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin – 4 stars

The author has made us wait a very long time for the final book in this trilogy. While this wasn’t my typical genre, I had enjoyed the first two books enough that I was really excited this one was finally released. However, the beginning was slow moving and I almost quit reading. I’m glad I hung in with it because it ended up being a good book. I had a little trouble following parts of it though.

Eating Bull by Carrie Ruben – 4 stars

Well written thriller – page turner that was hard to put down once I got into the book.

Drifter by ML Gardner – 3 stars

The author should have ended the series sooner. I felt like this was forced and not nearly as engaging as the first book.

The Senator by Ken Fite – 2 stars

While the story/plot was good and engaging, I was distracted by all of the typos (which started in the very beginning of the book).

The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison – 5 stars

I would like to give this more than 5 stars! It was a beautifully written, haunting book that after many other books and several weeks, has stuck with me. It will definitely end up being one of my favorite books from this year I’m sure. I found this book frightening, while still remaining hopeful and beautiful. Definitely a recommended book.

The Memory Closet by Ninie Hammon – 5 stars

Be careful what you wish for – or try to remember. This psychological thriller held my interest as I turned page after page

Goldilocks and the Werebear by Ionia Froment – 5 stars

The beautiful cover drew me in and then the story captivated me. A short retelling of a classic fairy tale that felt like a classic in its own right. A twist at the end completed this charming story. I recommend it for all ages.

The Paris Key by Julie Blackwell – 5 stars

I read this book in a day because I couldn’t put it down. I was drawn into the lives of Genevieve and her new friends (I loved Sylviane) and now that I’m done, I’m sad. There was a little mystery, although I really felt like this was just extraordinary literary fiction. I fell in love with Paris through the words of the author. I fell in love with Genevieve. I fell in love with Philippe. What a romantic place Paris must be – every book I read that is set there makes me fall in love. I typically get confused when authors go back and forth with different time periods and/or people. But this book was an exception – it worked and I didn’t get confused. It was the perfect way to tell the story of Angela and Dave. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a book to fall into and to transport you to another time and place.

The Litigators by John Grisham – 4 stars

This was an entertaining book but felt like a boiler plate legal thriller. It was good and I read it in a very short time, but I don’t feel like it was all that memorable.

The Lost Concerto by Helaine Mario – 4 stars

A fast paced book filled with intrigue. I had trouble putting this book down.

The Children by Ann Leary – 3 stars

I just can’t say much about this book, other than it was okay. Just okay. A take it or leave it kind of okay. I finished it, but didn’t ever feel a part of the book or the characters. I can’t say anything was particularly bad about the book – it was okay. But I can’t say anything was particularly good about the book either. Not my book, I guess.

6 thoughts on “May and June Book Reviews

  1. Thank you for reading and reviewing Midsummer at Eyre Hall, the final book in The Eyre Hall Trilogy. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it as much as the first two. It’s always hard to end a trilogy. I had to jump a few years ahead, tie up most plot lines, and I wanted a reasonably happy/satisfactory ending, not an easy task 🙂 I’ve enjoyed writing it immensely, and although I could have given more details and even written another, fourth book, I didn’t want to draw the story out any longer, I think three books is enough. Thanks for all your reviews and reading tips! I’ve just downloaded the memory closet, sounds fascinating 🙂

Leave a Reply

