Bad Review(er)

I have been a very bad book reviewer – I just can’t seem to get back into writing reviews. And this post will be no different – I will given them a star rating (based on five stars) and that’s it (except for a couple of standouts). This is March’s and April’s books. You can leave a comment with a question about a specific book and I will answer.

Breakdown by Jonathan Kellerman – 5 stars

The Third Girl by Nell Goddin – 5 stars

The Light of the Fireflies by Paul Pen – 3 stars

Descent by Kristina Stanley – 2 stars

Storm Clouds Rolling In by Ginny Dye – 4 stars

The Steel Kiss by Jeffrey Deaver – 5 stars

The Nest by Cynthia Sweeney – 5 stars

I would give The Nest more stars if I could – I loved this book (you can read the blurb yourself). It is a great read about family dynamics and brought a smile to my face often. I highly recommend everyone read this book.

Hinterland Veil by Sarah Cradit – 5 stars

The next book in the House of Crimson and Clover series takes us deeper into the lives of Finn, Ana, and all the others. Ms. Cradit knows how to weave a tale and keep us interested. There are so many parts of the history that keep unfolding. I really recommend reading these books in order, but definitely read them!

Resolution by Andrew Joyce – 5 stars

Huck Finn and Molly Lee depart on an adventure in the Yukon. I was captivated by every twist and turn and couldn’t read fast enough to find out what was going to happen next. This is the third book about Huck Finn, Tom Sawyer and Molly Lee. They can certainly be read independently of each other, but I always think you should start at the beginning. Huck and Molly make new friends, dog sled, brave the frigid temperatures and race against the elements. I highly recommend all of these books, but this one kept me on the edge of my seat.

1929 by M. L. Gardner – 5 stars

Elizabeth’s Heart by M. L. Gardner – 4 stars

1930 by M. L. Gardner – 4 stars

These three books are the first three books in a six book series. 1929, as the name would imply is set in 1929 from the stock market crash forward and chronicles the lives of three couples as they navigate life after they have literally lost everything. Elizabeth’s Heart continued the saga from a totally different angle, yet it brought it back together. 1930 continued with the 1929 story. I was so engaged by the story that I read these books back to back (and I never do that). However, I was quite disappointed with 1930 and the lack of proofreading – it was full of typos and errors and it detracted from my reading enjoyment. I decided I needed a break before continuing with books 4-6.

The Rejected Writer’s Book Club by Suzanne Kelman – 4 stars

 

Leave a Reply

