January book reviews

Obviously I’m not doing a very good job of reviews – but at least I have been keeping track of the books and my ratings – in some cases, I have posted an actual review but not in all. I most recommend What Alice Forgot, The Reach of the Banyan Tree and The Things We Keep though. Oh, and Christmas Bells also!

In short, 16 books (and another one half done already) for January – not bad. Especially when most people don’t read 16 books in a year! But then I have been cooped up inside and had some extra days off this month.

What Alice Forgot – 5 stars

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street – 2 stars

I can’t believe I actually read this entire book – I kept waiting for it to have a point or make sense to me. Maybe it was just too cerebral for me and I just didn’t “get it.” But I thought this was one of the dumbest things I’ve ever read.

The Reach of the Banyan Tree – 5 stars

This was a terrific novel set in Vietnam. Rich boy meets local girl – but with lots of twists.

The Letter Writer – 4 stars

Do Not Wash Hands in Plates –  5 stars

Love the author’s sense of humor coupled with the travelogue/memoir of her trip with girlfriends to India. This was a very quick read and will spark an interest in India. But, more importantly, it kept me laughing out loud throughout the book.

Ochoco Reach – 5 stars

I read this on the recommendation of a friend – and I was not disappointed.I hope this is going to be a series. I loved that it kept me interested in “what would happen next.” There were parts that may have been unbelievable, but it didn’t matter because I still wanted to know what was next and how they were going to get out of their next situation.

Christmas Bells – 5 stars

I would give this more stars if I could. I loved it. Chiaverini has a way with historical novels. I fell in love with all the characters in this book. And, no, you really don’t need to only read this at Christmas – it transcends a particular holiday.

Mrs. Roosevelt’s Confidante – 4 stars

His Majesty’s Hope – 5 stars

The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent –  4 stars

Olive Branches Don’t Grow on Trees – 4 stars

And this is why I typically don’t read reviews before I read a book. I really enjoyed this book and so many of the other reviews have not been good. I got wrapped up in the characters and felt like I was living the same life. There were some places it was a little slow, but I still finished it in a day – I just couldn’t put it down. And then I found out this was just the first book!

Regarding Anna – 3 stars

A Paris Apartment – 3 ½ stars

I would really like to give this 3 ½ stars – but I rounded up. I felt like April was a spoiled brat and grew tired of her rather quickly. I would like to have read more about the pieces and the auction she was setting up, instead of her whining.

Fields of Wrath – 5 stars

There wasn’t as much undercover as the blurb led me to believe. BUT this was still a very good book and an easy read. I read this quickly and couldn’t put it down.

The Things We Keep –  5 stars

I was drawn into this book – into a world of dementia. I wanted to help Young Guy out. I felt compassion for Anna. In short, I didn’t want this book to end.

The Hypnotist’s Love Story – 4 stars

There wasn’t anything wrong with this book. It was just okay. I never really felt like I just had to finish it though.

3 thoughts on “January book reviews

Leave a Reply

