Facebook

I read a blog the other day (or maybe it was an author’s personal Facebook post) about author pages on Facebook. It is as mysterious what the algorithm that Facebook uses as it is what Amazon uses. But I think I have discovered a couple of things anyway.

First of all, I only have 120 likes on my author page. When I post from my blog, I only get 6-8 people reached with the post on Facebook. Not very good. Then I post an update directly but have a link and it goes up – sometimes as high as 15-18. Still not ideal. But if I post an entirely original update, my reach extends to anywhere from 30 to as high as 80.

That tells me, in my very unscientific analysis, that I should copy and paste my blog or my poem directly into Facebook if I want an extended reach.

Now, time of day and day of the week also seems to factor into this. First thing in the morning when people are getting to work is a better time (I guess being at work doesn’t mean actually working) – this is also true for the end of the work day. But I have found that Saturdays and Sundays have an extended reach.

Conclusions – I removed the automatic share button from my blog to my author page on Facebook. Instead, I am taking some of my blog posts (some, not all) and copying them and pasting them into an original status update on Facebook. And I’m trying to only post 2-3 times a week so I’m concentrating on weekends.

I don’t know if this will help anybody else who is questioning or struggling with the effectiveness of Facebook – but it’s worth a shot.

For the record, I think that Twitter requires such constant exposure that it doesn’t matter how often (unless it borders onto spamming the twitterverse). Twitter is like a torrent of water flooding your feed and so many tweets get missed so a little overexposure is okay. But, I don’t think Twitter is likely to sell books. I will be exploring this later.

8 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. Interesting. I don’t see much of a difference on mine, but I see a jump when people either like or comment on them. Though I’m a terrible example here. Facebook and I haven’t been getting along for a month or two.

    • And I don’t know what to attribute it to – because it started just before I posted this blog – but I have picked up 40 (yes, FORTY!) new followers on my Facebook author page today. Maybe all of my efforts as of late are converging at the same time. Of course, I still haven’t sold a single book from those same efforts šŸ˜¦

  2. I just got an email from FB saying that ‘A friend wants you to like a Page on Facebook’. That may be one of the contributing factors of your new FB followers. I just also shared this article on my FB page.

    Lea Ellen {night owl in IL}

Leave a Reply

