Hollow and Empty

I’ve never felt so alone
Adrift in a sea of self pity
No one here with me at home
It seems everyone has left the city

I’m living alone on an island
Floundering about deserted
So wrong and so unplanned
Everyone has left or been diverted

Lonely all through the day and the night
A vacant shell of my former life
Searching for just a glimmer of light
Steady companions are stress and strife

I’ve never felt so alone
Hollow and empty. Just me
The weeds that choke me have grown
I have Freedom without being free

4 thoughts on “Hollow and Empty

Leave a Reply

