Snowfall

Snowfall

Softly falling snowflakes
A flurry of white swirling to the ground
A snowman we will make
Once we are outdoor bound

Great big snowballs for his trunk
A carrot for his nose
Add a scarf to give him spunk
He needs wellies for his toes

But then time to warm feet and hands
Time to build a fire of hickory
And dream of beaches of white sand
While flames are all flickery

Tomorrow as our snowman shrinks
Under sunny skies of blue
I wonder what he really thinks
About the cold weather too

I hope he can take the chill
I know that I prefer the heat
As I trudge to get up the hill
And struggle against the snow and sleet

I would much prefer to be a bear
More than a snowman of white
I could sleep the winter away without a care
And not feel the cold winter’s bite

But looking at the swirling snow
And slopes without winter’s gloom
It is very pretty to watch the piles grow
From within the confines of my warm room

http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/jusjojan-1-the-rules-are-easy/

28 thoughts on “Snowfall

  1. Nice to make a snowman when you can, even if you know that it will fade away soon under those sunny skies. I wouldn’t mind sleeping away the winter like a bear either!

  2. they say we might have snow tonight…not enough to make a snowman sadly…but i can hope…i want to get some good sledding in this year…smiles…ha i could be a bear as well…smiles.

  3. But looking at the swirling snow
    And slopes without winter’s gloom
    It is very pretty to watch the piles grow
    From within the confines of my warm room

    …I know that’s right. Nothing like watching snow pile up, especially if it means a day off of work 🙂

Leave a Reply

